Following the massive success of his 37th studio album Roll With the Punches (which charted at No 4 in the UK this September), Van Morrisonprepares the release of his 38th. Versatile is positive proof that Van Morrison is built differently to other artists.

“His third album in as many years proves that, at 71, Morrison can still perform with gusto” - Mojo

“Joyous” - Uncut

“Knockout” - The Daily Mirror

One of very few British recording artists to warrant the description ‘living legend’, Van is currently working at a rate to put musicians a third of his age to shame; an ethic that harks back to his early days as a recording artist who’d easily release multiple brilliant long players within the space of a year.

While 'Roll With The Punches' saw Van revisit many of the definitive rhythm and blues records that have stayed with him all his life, Van’s latest album sees him delve further back into recorded music’s archives to interpret some of the 20th century’s greatest vocal jazz standards.

Across Versatile’s sixteen tracks, Van Morrison interprets some of the very building blocks of modern music in his own utterly unique style.  As well as songs originally made famous by the likes of Chet Baker, Frank Sinatra, the Righteous Brothers, Tony Bennett and Nat King Cole, Versatile features six stunning new Van compositions, including Broken Record – a timeless piece of late-night swing. Van says of Versatile: “Recording songs like these - especially the standards - gave me the chance to stretch out vocally and get back to the music that originally inspired me to sing - jazz!"

A joy from start to finish, Versatile is a completely different record to Roll With the Punches yet it’s incontrovertibly Van and proof, if ever it were needed, that at 72 years of age, he’s not going to slow down any time soon.

Versatile features:

1. ‘Broken Record’ (Van Morrison)

2. ‘A Foggy Day’ (George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin)

3. ‘Let’s Get Lost’ (Frank Loesser and Jimmy McHugh)

4. ‘Bye Bye Blackbird’ (Ray Henderson and Mort Dixon)

5. ‘Skye Boat Song’ (Traditional. Arranged by Van Morrison)

6. ‘Take It Easy Baby’ (Van Morrison)

7. ‘Makin’ Whoopee’ (Walter Donaldson and Gus Kahn)

8. I Get a Kick Out of You (Cole Porter)

9. ‘I Forgot That Love Existed’ (Van Morrison)

10. ‘Unchained Melody’ (Alex North and Hy Zaret)

11. ‘Start All Over Again’ (Van Morrison)

12. ‘Only A Dream’ (Van Morrison)

13. ‘Affirmation’ featuring Sir James Galway (Van Morrison)

14. ‘The Party’s Over’ (Betty Comden, Adolph Green and Jule Styne)

15. ‘I Left My Heart in San Francisco’ (George Cory and Douglass Cross)

16. ‘They Can’t Take That Away from Me’ (George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin)


Van Morrison plays a series of already announced UK and European shows in November and December. UK dates are as follows:

6th Nov                 Edinburgh Playhouse

7th Nov                 Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

12th Nov               London Eventim Apollo

13th Nov              Birmingham Symphony Hall (SOLD OUT)

15th Nov               Liverpool Philharmonic Hall (SOLD OUT)

20th Nov               Cardiff St Davids Hall

21st Nov               Bristol Colston Hall (SOLD OUT)

24th Nov               Torquay Princess Theatre

25th Nov               Plymouth Pavilions

4th Dec                  Belfast Europa Hotel

5th Dec                  Belfast Europa Hotel


Pre-order the album here. 

Website   Spotify    Facebook    Twitter

Get In Touch

Drop us a line

Contact Info

We would love to hear from you and appreciate your feedback. Please get in touch with any queries or questions that you may have regarding the Cornfield Magazine.

Phone: 0121 796 6800



Address: Wythall Business Centre May Lane, Birmingham, B47 5PD